Schalke 04 club records

Schalke 04 club records

Schalke 04 have a proud record as seven-times German Champions – albeit that the last of those championships came in 1958!

Ebbe Sand – Bundesliga top scorer 2001
Indeed, all of those championship titles came in the period before the creation of the Bundesliga (1963/64). At that time, the winners of all of Germany’s regional leagues met in a knock-out competition to decide the ultimate national champions. As you can see below, Schalke’s real heyday was from the mid 1930s to the early 1940s.

Apart from Ebbe Sand (pictured right) who was the Bundesliga’s joint top goalscorer in the 2000/2001 season with 22 goals, you also have to go back over a quarter of a century to find another Schalke player topping the goal scoring lists. That was Klaus Fischer in 1976. How long before a Schalke goal scorer does it again??

German championship – Winners
1934 Beat Nuremberg 2-1 in the final
1935 Beat Stuttgart 6-4
1937 Beat Nuremberg 2-0
1939 Beat Admira Vienna 9-0
1940 Beat SC Dresden 1-0
1942 Beat Vienna Wien 2-0
1958 Beat Hamburg 3-0

German championship – Runners-up
1933 Lost 3-0 to Düsseldorf
1938 Lost 7-6 (agg.) to Hanover
1941 Lost 4-3 to Rapid Vienna
1972 – Bundesliga: 2nd to Bayern Munich
1977 – Bundesliga: 2nd to Borussia Mönchengladbach
2001 – Bundesliga: 2nd to Bayern Munich
2005 – Bundesliga: 2nd to Bayern Munich
2007 – Bundesliga: 2nd to VfB Stuttgart
2010 – Bundesliag: 2nd to Bayern Munich

German Cup Final – Winners
1938 Beat Düsseldorf 2-1
1972 Beat Kaiserslautern 5-0
2001 Beat Union Berlin 2-0
2002 Beat Leverkusen 4-2

UEFA Cup – Winners
1997 Beat Inter Milan 1-1 (4-1 on pens)

German second division – Winners 1982 and 1991

Warning: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable in /homepages/2/d105049702/htdocs/FIG-Backup/wordpress/wp-includes/class-wp-comment-query.php on line 405

Leave a Reply