Schalke 04 – Overview

Schalke 04 – Overview

Schalke 04 is one of the biggest club’s in German football – but much of their reputation comes from success many, many years ago. As the 04 in the club name suggests, it was in 1904 that it was formed, in a pub in a suburb of Gelsenkirchen called Schalke.

They opened their new stadium, the Glückaufkampfbahn (left) in 1928. This was to be their home during the glory years of the 1930s and early 1940s. Winning their first German championship* in 1934, Schalke appeared in 14 out of 20 league championship and FA Cup finals between 1933 and 1942.

Seven championship titles
With the championship extended during the War to include Austrian teams, Schalke won their 6th title in 1942, beating Vienna in the final. Sixteen years later, in 1958, they won their seventh and – as at the date of writing – last title.

Having been a founding member of the Bundesliga in 1963, Schalke were embroiled in a major match-fixing scandal in 1972/73, as a result of which several players were banned for taking bribes to throw a game.

Cup success
The 1980s saw the ignominy of relegation from the Bundesliga no less than three times. In recent years, however, they have tasted success again, winning the UEFA Cup in 1997 and the German Cup for the 3rd and 4th times in 2001 and 2002.

Since 1958, however, another – 8th – championship continues to elude them…

External link

* Schalke 04 (English)

* Before the Bundesliga was formed in 1963, German football was based on several regional leagues, with the ultimate champions crowned in an inter-league final.

Warning: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable in /homepages/2/d105049702/htdocs/FIG-Backup/wordpress/wp-includes/class-wp-comment-query.php on line 405

Leave a Reply